“Where She Went” (If I Stay, #2) by Gayle Forman

Where She Went (If I Stay, #2)Where She Went by Gayle Forman

Purchase: Amazon - Barnes & Noble
Review copy from Netgalley
Hardcover, 264 pages
Published April 5th 2011 by Dutton Juvenile

Synopsis (from Goodreads):
It's been three years since the devastating accident . . . three years since Mia walked out of Adam's life forever.

Now living on opposite coasts, Mia is Juilliard's rising star and Adam is LA tabloid fodder, thanks to his new rock star status and celebrity girlfriend. When Adam gets stuck in New York by himself, chance brings the couple together again, for one last night. As they explore the city that has become Mia's home, Adam and Mia revisit the past and open their hearts to the future - and each other.

Told from Adam's point of view in the spare, lyrical prose that defined If I Stay, Where She Went explores the devastation of grief, the promise of new hope, and the flame of rekindled romance.

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

When "Where She Went" was announced, I was a bit surprised because I felt that "If I Stay" ended perfectly. But when I found out that this time the story would be told through Adam's point of view, I was curious as to where the story would go.

In "If I Stay", Mia's life is forever changed when a car crash claims the lives of her parents and younger brother, Teddy - leaving her clinging to life. She must make the decision as to whether she wants to leave or stay. Adam makes a plea for her to stay ("If you stay, I’ll do whatever you want. I’ll quit the band; go with you to New York. But if you need me to go away, I’ll do that too. .. And that would suck, but I’ll do it. I can lose you like that, if I don’t lose you today. I’ll let you go. If you stay.") and the story ends with Mia waking up.

"Where She Went" is just as emotional as "If I Stay", and its just as beautifully written.

The story is told from Adam's point of view, the pain he experienced after everything that happened. We get to read about what happened when Mia woke up and we get to see where their lives are now (Adam, Mia, & Kim)- three years later. Avoiding spoilers as much as possible, I'll just say this: I could not put the book down, sneaking in whatever reading I could during work. It's an absolute must read and will no doubt be one of my top ten books from 2011.

View all my reviews

Book Trailer:

Posted on June 16, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

