Review: “Cinder and Ella”

Cinder and EllaCinder and Ella by Melissa Lemon

Review copy from NetGalley
Paperback, 208 pages
Expected publication: November 8th 2011 by Bonneville Books

Pre-Order: Amazon -- Barnes & Noble
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Description from Goodreads:

After their father’s disappearance, Cinder leaves home for a servant job at the castle. But it isn’t long before her sister Ella is brought to the castle herself—the most dangerous place in all the kingdom for both her and Cinder. Cinder and Ella is a Cinderella story like no other and one you’ll never forget.

My Review:

If there is one book I’ve read this year that is nothing like I expected it to be, it would be CINDER AND ELLA – not that it’s necessarily a bad thing. I was expecting a retelling of CINDERELLA with maybe more of the story that we’ve come to know. I’m actually thankful that this story didn’t follow my expectations. I enjoyed it. At 208 pages, it was a fast and easy read.

I didn’t care for the mother, because honestly…she does nothing, but the characters were interesting. Ella, the daughter the mother had ‘forgotten’ (although she really just merged Ella and Cinder together), is a fighter and she makes the entire story (well, Tanner is pretty interesting, too). The whole every person has a tree that’s connected to them concept was really neat and I think it was well thought out.

“Cinder and Ella” isn’t perfect, not everyone will like it. There isn’t a glass slipper. There isn’t a fairy god mother. This isn’t your usual Cinderella story. The first few chapters are hard to really get into, but the story is worth reading. I will say, however, that I didn’t care for the ending. The villian was just sent away. That was probably my biggest issue with this book.

All in all, I’d give it three and a half stars.

Check it out if you get a chance, just make sure you go in with an open mind.

View all my reviews

Posted on August 3, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I saw this on Netgalley the other day and was wondering about it so your review is very timely. I would have thought it was a Cinderella retelling too. It does sound very unusual. I may give it a read sometime. Thanks!

    • Yeah, it took me a while to request it – I just wasn’t sure if it was worth reading, but I liked it. It’s a quick, fun read if you’re not expecting a retelling of Cinderella as we know it.

      🙂

  1. Pingback: Weekly Recap: 03 « YA Book Haven — Book Blog!

  2. Pingback: What are you reading? 04 « YA Book Haven — Book Blog!

Leave a Reply

