Review: “Bone Dressing” by Michelle I. Brooks

Bone DressingBone Dressing by Michelle I. Brooks

Paperback, 360 pages
Published April 20th 2011 by Savage Enterprises
Review Copy From Author
Purchase: Amazon Barnes & Noble
Description from Goodreads:
TIME IS RUNNING OUT … THE DARK THAT’S BEEN CHASING SYD FOR MANY LIFETIMES HAS FINALLY CAUGHT UP WITH HER … Sydney Roberdeau lost her parents as a young girl. Waiting for her life to start and the freedom that will come with her eighteenth birthday, Syd spends much of her time haunting the local cemetery. It is there, stretched out among the dead, that she feels most alive, most at home. Until one rainy night when Beau, Sarah and T.J. crash her ghostly sanctuary, appearing out of nowhere, turning her already inside-out world one degree past upside down. Syd must now revisit past lives, dressing in the bodies of her previous selves … bone dressing. Her only chance to outrun the evil breathing down her neck is to face her own worst nightmares and her strongest desires. But if she can’t stay out of trouble in this life, how can she possibly fix mistakes from past lives? And just how many lives has she lived, loved and lost? What is Syd exactly, and what will she risk for the life of a man she doesn’t remember, the man she spent a lifetime with, the man she loves? Everything … including her very own life? Bone Dressing, the first in a series of seven books, will carry Syd and Beau on an adventure that transcends life itself.

My Review:

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’m going to do this review a bit differently, mainly because I had to stop reading after about 175 pages. I’ll state my thoughts and I’ll also point out reasons why you should check it out. When Michelle contacted me to review “Bone Dressing”, I was excited. A story that’s completely different from most of what’s available in YA books? Count me in. I really wanted to love “Bone Dressing”, but unfortunately that wasn’t the case. I didn’t finish “Bone Dressing” because I couldn’t fully get into it and I have a huge list of books to read. Do I plan on finishing it? Yes, at some point.

Here are my thoughts on the story (what I read): For me, I felt as though there was a metaphor for everything. Yes, most of them were hilarious, but at the same time I felt as though they were overdone. I also hard a hard time keeping up with what was going on. I didn’t connect with Syd. She was funny and full of sass, which is nice in a female MC, but I never felt a connection towards her character.

What you may like about “Bone Dressing”: It’s different from most YA books. Syd actually reminds me of Ashline from “Wildefire”. She’s tough and she’s funny. The entire bone dressing concept is intriguing. While I didn’t love this book, that’s not to say you won’t. I’d suggest giving it a read. You can pick up the e-book on Amazon for $0.99.

For what I read, I’d give it three stars as I did enjoy the idea behind the story, even if I didn’t love it

View all my reviews

Posted on September 22, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

