Review: “The Mephisto Covenant (The Mephisto Covenant #1)” by Trinity Faegen

The Mephisto Covenant (The Mephisto Covenant, #1)The Mephisto Covenant by Trinity Faegen

Hardcover, 439 pages
Published September 27th 2011 by EgmontUSA
Review Copy: NetGalley
Purchase: Amazon Barnes & Noble
Description from Goodreads:

Sasha is desperate to find out who murdered her father. When getting the answer means pledging her soul to Eryx, she unlocks a secret that puts her in grave danger—she is an Anabo, a daughter of Eve, and Eryx’s biggest threat.

A son of Hell, immortal, and bound to Earth forever, Jax looks for redemption in the Mephisto Covenant—God’s promise he will find peace in the love of an Anabo. After a thousand years, he’s finally found the girl he’s been searching for: Sasha.

With the threat of Eryx always looming, Jax knows he has to keep Sasha safe and win her over.  But can he? Will Sasha love him and give up her mortal life?

My Review:

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I don’t like bad reviews. I really, really don’t. Unfortunately, as I can’t say that I enjoyed this book, I’m forced to give the story two stars. I will state, however, that just because I didn’t care for this book, doesn’t mean you shouldn’t give it a chance.

I think my main problem with this book wasn’t the story itself, but rather the characters. This quote, for example, made me do a double take because it’s just really odd: “I’m Mephisto – you’re Anabo. Since I’m the one who caught your scent, it means you’re intended for me.” (from page 23) – The whole Mephisto and Anabo thing is interesting, as is the story line with Sasha’s family, but sadly I found the characters to just be strange. Especially when Jax becomes obsessive about Sasha after meeting her. I understand that she’s meant for him and such, but it all just came off rather creepy. Other than when Sasha is attacked by the Raven’s, and her mother informs her that she’s being deported, I didn’t find any reason to care about Sasha (both of the mentioned events take place pretty early on in the story). I can say that I don’t think Trinity Faegen is a bad writer, that isn’t the case, it’s just that unfortunately this story wasn’t for me For me the whole instant love connection between Jax and Sasha just didn’t work, and the dialogue was seemed a bit off. I hate writing bad reviews. I know that authors put a lot of hard work into their books, and I’d much rather spend my time praising them, but every now and then I’ll find a book that just isn’t for me. Sadly, this was one of those books.

View all my reviews

If you’re interested in this book, don’t be put off from my review, there are plenty of wonderful reviews on Goodreads.

Posted on October 1, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

