Top Ten Tuesday 05: Top Ten Book Endings That Left Me With My Mouth Hanging Open

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish (http://brokeandbookish.blogspot.com/). This week’s topic is:  Top Ten Book Endings That Left Me With My Mouth Hanging Open (because of the cliffhanger or because it the ending was MINDBLOWING, etc. Be careful with spoilers on this one! :P)
 
1. Ashes (Ashes Trilogy #1) by Ilsa J. Bick
Seriously one of my favorites from this year, but oh man – that ending? I need the second book, like yesterday.
 
2. Blood (Mercian Trilogy #1) by K.J. Wignall
The ending was WTF worthy, because even though I guessed something was off about that kid, I never thought THAT would happen.
 
3. Breaking Dawn (Twilight, # 4) by Stephenie Meyer
Now, I’m a Twilight fan, but when this book ended I kind of sat there for a while thinking “what on Earth did I just read?” – it wasn’t that I hated it (I’m actually one of the apparent few who liked it), I just wasn’t expecting it to end with a Nessie.
 
4. Wildefire by Karsten Knight
I liked Colt and I still like Colt, even after he revealed who he was to Ashline. I’m really interested to see where the storyline goes in the next book.
 
5. Mockingjay (The Hunger Games #3) by Suzanne Collins
I loved this series, and I did enjoy Mockingjay, but the ending was a bit underwhelming. So when they ended up together, and had children, it just seemed a bit forced?
 
6. Michael Vey: The Prisoner of Cell 25 by Richard Paul Evans
This book was a fun read and the ending left me wanting the next book immediately. It’ll be interesting to see what happens to Michael and his friends now.
 
7. Fury by Elizabeth Miles
The ending to this one was perfect. It’s a nice bit of karma and I’m eager to see what ends up happening.
 
8.Deviant by Adrian McKinty
I had my suspicions about a lot of characters in this book, but something seemed strange about Tom. When the ending came and the fight at the end almost resulted in Danny’s death, I was shocked to see that it wasn’t Tom admitting to the killings…until the very end where we get to see a different side of Tom. Now that’s just sick.
 
9.Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma
While the story can be a tad unnerving at times, especially due to the relationship between the two main characters, that ending is absolutely heart wrenching.
 
10. Dust & Decay (Benny Imura #2) by Jonathan Maberry
All I’m going to say: Tom. Seriously, that ending killed me.
 
Note: I didn’t put these in any specific order.
Posted on October 4, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I completely agree with Ashes. I almost cried when it said the end…I know I screamed out lout at my e-reader.

    Have you read Variant? Similar response. I would put it on this list as well…lol.

    • Yeah, that ending was crazy. I stared at my Kindle for a while, refusing to accept the book was finished.
      I’m actually starting VARIANT tonight (after I finish EVE). I’ve read nothing but great things about it, so I’m really looking forward to it.

      Happy reading!

  2. You know, I’ve only read 3 of the books on your list (Ashes, Breaking Dawn, and Mockingjay), but I totally agree with your assessment on all of them. So now I will have to read the rest too.

    Another book that left me needing the next book NOW was The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness. At the end of it, I felt exactly how I did at the end of Ashes–heart pounding and in disbelief I had to wait for another book to see what happened :).

    Great list!

    • I’ve actually yet to read The Knife of Never Letting Go but I’m going to have to check it out now!
      Happy reading 🙂

  1. Pingback: Weekly Recap: 11 « Nicole's YA Book Haven

Leave a Reply

