Top Ten Tuesday 06: Top Ten Books I Wish I Could Read Again for the First Time

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

There are just some books that leave you with such deep, intense feeling when you finish it for the first time. We’ve all experienced this at one time or another. The bad thing is, there’s really no way we can go back and experience that feeling again, even with multiple rereadings. We already know what happens, if there are plot twists, a surprise ending, who the main characters ends up with , who dies, etc.

Top Ten Books I Wish I Could Read Again for the First Time

Not in any particular order.

The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1) by Suzanne Collins:  I love the trilogy, but the first book is still my favorite. The feeling you get when you first read the berry scene, it’s hard to describe…but it’s safe to say it was that scene that truly made me adore Katniss.

The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling: Really? Do I need to explain this one? Re-reads may be nice, but to experience that feeling when you first start these books…it’s hard to recreate.

Twilight (Twilight #1) by Stephenie Meyer: When I first read “Twilight”, “New Moon” had already been released (thankfully), so as soon as I finished I headed off to the nearest book store to pick up the sequel and then proceeded to lock myself in my room until I was done reading. It’s not often a book elicit’s that feeling from me, so I’d love to be able to experience that all over again.

If I Stay (If I Stay #1) by Gayle Forman: This story tore me to pieces the first time I read it. So why would I want to reread it all over again for the first time? Because you can’t really appreciate just how great this story is when you know the outcome.

Divergent by Veronica Roth: I love this book. Seriously. But it’s the suspense that makes this story as amazing as it is.

Ultraviolet by R.J. Anderson: This is one of those books that will take everything you thought you knew and turn it completely upside down. Once you know what happens, it’s hard to go back and experience the thrills and shocks that you first felt.

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley: I read this one in high school, as most people did, and I loved it, but on rereads since then…I’ve never been able to capture the feeling I first got from the book.

Rot & Ruin (Benny Imura #1) by Jonathan Maberry: This book is one you need to experience. Let’s just leave it at that.

Past Midnight (Past Midnight #1) by Mara Purnhagen: This series is fun and thrilling, and now that it’s over, I’d love to start back from the beginning.

Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion: This book is fantastic. It’s different from pretty much any zombie book I’ve ever read. I’ve spent a lot of time recommending this one. Experiencing R’s thoughts and the way that he changes throughout the story for the first time is fascinating – I’d love o be able to experience it again for the first time.

Posted on October 11, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great list Nicole. Several of these like Warm Bodies, Rot & Ruin, and Brave New World I still look forward to reading for the first time. I totally agree with you about If I Stay. I love it too but it would just not be the same experience the second time.

Leave a Reply

