Review: “Seers” by Heather Frost

SeersSeers by Heather Frost

Hardcover, 330 pages
Published October 4th 2011 by Bonneville
Review Copy: NetGalley
Purchase: Amazon Barnes & Noble
Description From Goodreads:
For Kate Bennett, surviving the car wreck that killed her parents means big changes — and even bigger problems. As she begins to see auras and invisible people, Kate must learn to trust Patrick O’Donnell, a handsome Guardian, or risk her life being overrun with Demons. She soon realizes that both she and her heart are in big-time trouble.
My Review:

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

“Seers” was a nice surprise. I wasn’t sure I was going to like it as much as I did, mainly because I struggled to get through the beginning (which does actually serve a purpose), but in the end I ended up enjoying this one quite a lot.

The story is about Kate, a high school senior, who survives an accident that kills her parents. Ever since the accident, she’s been able to see auras around people (everyone except for herself); she became a Seer. When a new boy shows up on the first day of school, Kate seems to be drawn to him, not knowing that Patrick is her Guardian. Together, Kate and Patrick must protect the living by seeking out demons. Yes, there is a love story in here as Kate and Patrick do end up developing feelings for one another, but it’s not the story. It’s more so a story about Kate dealing with the loss of her parents, the problems with her relationship with Aaron, and her struggle to understand her new ‘sight’. I’m really interested to know where the story will go from here. The ending of “Seers” left me wanting to know what’ll happen next.

Heather Frost has a wonderful writing style; everything flows quite nicely. The characters are excellent, especially Kate. This is a great young adult novel – one you should definitely make time to check out.

View all my reviews

Posted on October 13, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. glad you liked it a lot , me 2 . was not high in expectations

  2. I like that it deals with a few different issues like grief and romance, as well as with her paranormal talent. The premise, though, sounds like a blend of a few other YA paranormals for some reason which gives me pause. I’m glad you liked the characters though – that can make a huge difference. I’ll keep my eye out for Seers. Pretty cover too.

  1. Pingback: Weekly Recap: 12 « Nicole's YA Book Haven

Leave a Reply

