Review: Tris & Izzie by Mette Ivie Harrison

Tris & IzzieTris & Izzie by Mette Ivie Harrison

Hardcover, 272 pages
Published October 11th 2011 by EgmontUSA
Review Copy: NetGalley
Description From Goodreads:
A modern retelling of the German fairytale “Tristan and Isolde”, Tris and Izzie is about a young witch named Izzie who is dating Mark King, the captain of the basketball team and thinks her life is going swimmingly well. Until — she makes a love potion for her best friend Brangane and then ends up taking it herself accidentally, and falling in love with Tristan, the new guy at school.
My Review:

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

When I saw this book on NetGalley, I immediately requested it – not only did it sound great, but the cover is gorgeous (yes, I can be a bit of a cover snob at times). I wanted to love this book. I really did. But I didn’t.

The characters were not likeable, especially Izzie. She was incredibly frustrating in that she was childish and even arrogant at times. The secondary characters weren’t much better. When Branna tells Izzie that she doesn’t want a love potion because she’d rather a boy actually love her without the help of magic, Izzie doesn’t listen and goes ahead with her plan. I know that she feels bad about her friend being the third wheel, all of a sudden at least, but to completely disobey her friend’s wishes? It’s selfish. Really, really selfish.

The entire ‘love potion’ thing starts off rather early (as in three chapters in, early). And it just seems a bit rushed and ridiculous at the same time. Izzie needed a piece of Branna’s hair, which she gets by stealing Branna’s comb on the bus. This made me do a double take, since in chapter one it states “Branna drove her own car to school these days, instead of taking the bus.” It’s inconsistencies like these that make this a hard story to follow. I held out hope that maybe the story would improve, but it didn’t. And the relationship between Tristan and Izzie was just silly.

I feel terrible having nothing positive to say, as I hate bad reviews, but I really could not get into this one.

View all my reviews

Posted on October 17, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Yeah. It was kinda sorta really bad. The book had so much potential but I found it really shallow. I know teens are supposed to be annoying and everything, but Izzie takes it too far.
    Sorry you didn’t enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

