Top Ten Tuesday 07: Top Ten Books I Bought for the Cover or Title

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

We’ve all been told not to judge a book by its cover. But we all do it. We also judge books by their titles. I know that a lot of work goes into cover art – and so I think it’s an acceptable factor in your decision to spend $15-$20 on a book that it cover and/or title be pleasing. So here are 10 books that I’ve judged and bought based on their cover art and/or title. And whether or not that judging led me astray.

Top Ten Books I Bought for the Cover or Title

Not in any particular order.


  1. Matched (Matched #1) by Ally Condie: The cover is what really sold me on this one. Thankfully, I ended up liking the actual story, too. The cover is simple and beautiful.
  2. Nightshade (Nightshade #1) by Andrea Cremer: Seriously, one of my favorite covers from 2010. I haven’t read the book yet, but as soon as I get through my NetGalley stack, I’ll get around to it!
  3. Rampant (Killer Unicorns #1) by Diana Peterfreund: I scored this one super cheap, but I probably would’ve put it down had it not been for the cover. I haven’t read it yet, but the cover is lovely.
  4. Across the Universe (Across the Universe, #1) by Beth Revis: Beautiful, beautiful cover…and fantastic story, too.
  5. Mistwood (Mistwood #1) by Leah Cypess: Another book I have yet to read, but the cover was too pretty to not buy it.
  6. White Cat (Curse Workers #1) by Holly Black: While I liked the story, I think I prefer the cover to the story itself.
  7. Delirium (Delirium #1) by Lauren Oliver: Still in my TBR pile, but I love this cover. Not only is it my favorite color, but it’s simple enough that it captures your interest still.
  8. Rot & Ruin (Benny Imura #1) by Jonathan Maberry: I bought this when the Borders by my house was going out of business. I hadn’t heard of the series at that point but the cover caught my eye. As it turns out, I loved it.
  9. If I Stay (If I Stay #1) by Gayle Forman: I’d heard a lot about this one before I decided to buy it, but it ultimately came down to that cover. It’s absolutely stunning, just like the book itself.
  10. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #1) by Michelle Hodkin: Still on my TBR pile, unfortunately, but the cover is wonderful. Really looking forward to reading this one.
Posted on October 18, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. We have Nightshade, Mara Dyer, and Across the Universe in common, Nicole. I own Mistwood too, and also have yet to read it! I hope you read Delirium before Pandemonium comes out – it’s so good! Awesome covers 🙂

Leave a Reply

