Top Ten Tuesday 09:Top Ten Books I Had Strong Emotions Over

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is: Top Ten Books I Had Strong Emotions Over.

(Not in any particular order)

  1. If I Stay by Gayle Forman: I will be honestly surprised if this one doesn’t make most lists. Mia’s story tore me to pieces. I cried a lot over this one. When I say a lot, I honestly mean A LOT. (Where She Went packed a punch with it, too).
  2. Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma: I love this book, but I also hate it. Why? Because it’s so hard not to tear up at that ending. What happens is horrible. Sure, the relationship is wrong…but that ending. It kills you. It really does.
  3. The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder: This one hits hard, mainly because cancer is something that affects most of us. We all know someone who has gone through it, and honestly, it’s one of the hardest things to watch. Wunder did an amazing job at capturing the emotional toll of Cam’s disease. I cried, I laughed…and then I cried some more.
  4. Circle Nine by Anne Heltzel: This story tore me apart. What happens to Abby is horrible and frightening, mainly because it’s entirely possible.
  5. Lie by Caroline Bock: This book was difficult to read, given the subject matter. It’s a really powerful book that’ll make you want to cry and scream all at the same time.
  6. New Moon by Stephenie Meyer: I made the mistake of reading this one while going through a huge break up of my own. Not a good idea. Seriously, don’t do it. Even though you want to hit Bella occasionally through out, it’s easy to understand the longing, the sadness through out. I didn’t cry over this one, but it did bring out a flood of varying emotions upon my first read through.
  7. Tris & Izzie by Mette Ivie Harrison: I don’t like to say I hated a book. It’s mean. But I really did hate this book. I spent most of the time reading it wanting to scream at all of the characters for being ridiculous.
  8. Mockingjay (The Hunger Games #3) by Suzanne Collins: I spent most of the time conflicted over my thoughts on the conclusion to this series. I loved Mockingjay, but I have no problem admitting that wasn’t the case at first. The ending with Katniss and Peeta? I mean, c’mon. And then Prim? And Finnick? Yeah, I was angry about those for a while.
  9. Clean by Amy Reed: This one hits hard. Really, really, really hard. Let’s just say it was difficult to read this one without crying.
  10. Savannah Grey by Cliff McNish: I didn’t hate this one, but I certainly didn’t love it, either. The problem with Savannah Grey is that it feels…rushed. And at times ridiculous. It’s easy to want to throw the book. Heck, I did a few times before I eventually forced myself to finish it (thankfully the ending makes up for the rest of the story).

 

Have you read any of the books on my list? Which was your favorite? What books would you recommend for me to read (using this weeks topic)?

Posted on November 1, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I totally agree with you about If I Stay, Forbidden, and New Moon. Mockingjay is so heart-wrenching. It took me awhile to process all the events from that book. I’m really curious to read The Probability of Miracles.

    • Mockingjay took me for a ride, that’s for sure. Definitely pick up The Probability of Miracles when it comes out in December. It may take some time getting into it, but it’s really a well done story. I enjoyed it a lot.

  2. Ha, If I Stay and the entire Hunger Games series is on my list as well. I have Tris and Izzie on my Kindle courtesy of Net Galley, but now I’m not so keen to read it! Yikes! I love that your book wasn’t full of the same titles I’ve read many other places (including my own list).

Leave a Reply

