Review + Giveaway: The Iron Knight (Iron Fey #4) by Julie Kagawa

The Iron Knight (Iron Fey, #4)The Iron Knight by Julie Kagawa

Paperback, 361 pages
Published October 25th 2011 by Harlequin
Review Copy: NetGalley
Purchase: Amazon Barnes & Noble
Description From Goodreads:
My name- my True Name- is Ashallyn’darkmyr Tallyn. I am the last remaining song of Mab, Queen of the Unseelie Court.And I am dead to her.My fall began, as many stories do, with a girl…To cold faery prince Ash, love was a weakness for mortals and fools. His own love had died a horrible death, killing gentler feelings the Winter Prince might have had. Or so he thought.

Then Meghan Chase- a half-human, half-fey slip of a girl- smashed through his barricades, binding him to her irrevocably with his oath to be her knight. And when all of Faery nearly fell to the Iron fey, she severed their bond to save his life. Meghan is now the Iron Queen, ruler of a realm where no Winter or Summer faery can survive,

With the unwelcome company of his archrival, Summer Court prankster Puck, and the infuriating cait sith Grimalkin, Ash begins a journey he is bound to see through its end- a quest to find a way to honor his vow to stand by Meghan’s side.

To survive the Iron Realm, Ash must have a soul and a mortal body. But the tests he must face to earn these things are impossible. And along the way, Ash learns something that changes everything. A truth that challenges his darkest beliefs and shows him that, sometimes, it takes more than courage to make the ultimate sacrifice.

My Review:

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’ve been trying to write my review for “The Iron Knight” for over a week now, but I keep finding myself struggling with what to say. The fangirling? That comes easy. Actually managing to type up a coherent review? It’s been quite troublesome.

Fans of Kagawa will devour “The Iron Knight” immediately. Reading from Meghan’s point of view, we get glimpses of who Ash really is, but never like this. For the first time, we get to know Ash – Ashallyn’darkmyr Tallyn – as more than the Winter Prince.

When Meghan was close to death in “The Iron Queen”, she banned Ash from entering the Iron Realm, knowing he couldn’t survive there. But before he left, he made a vow that he would find a way back to her – that they’d be together again – and he intends to keep that vow.

“The Iron Knight” is the story of Ash’s journey back to Meghan. As he searches for a way to become human, the only way he can survive in the Iron Realm, he is put through numerous trials. At the end of the trials, he must ask himself the most important question of all: does he want a soul?

There are many reasons why “The Iron Knight” is fantastic (and my favorite of the series). Yes, Kagawa’s writing is story, as always. But it’s her character development that really shines through. To take a character like Ash, someone who rarely opens up, and really give the readers an insight into the person beneath the icy stare – it’s not an easy task, but Kagawa handles it well. There’s also the nice addition of a character we’ve read about in the other novels. Very unexpected, but essential to the story.

Honestly, I adore this series. I think Julie Kagawa is a magnificent writer. The world, and the characters, she’s created within this series are excellent. If you have yet to read this series, you are missing out.

View all my reviews

Want a chance to win the entire Iron Fey series (novellas not included)? You’re in luck, I’m giving away ONE set to a lucky follower. Here’s how to enter:

  • Must be a US reisdent.
  • Must subscribe to this blog & leave a comment after you do.
  • For extra entries, tweet the following & comment with the link: “I want to win the Iron Fey series from @NicsYABookHaven!”   (+3 Entries)
  • For more entries, post the link to this giveaway on your FB page & leave the link in your comment. (+5 entries)

The winner will be announced on December 2nd, 2011. Again, you MUST be a US reisdent. This is coming out of my pocket and international shipping is just too much at the moment.

The winner will win one paperback copy of each of the following: The Iron King, The Iron Daughter, The Iron Queen, and The Iron Knight!

You can find my giveaway policy here.

THIS GIVEAWAY IS CLOSED!

My other reviews:

Posted on November 4, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. I’m already subscribed to your blog.. 😉

    http://twitter.com/#!/DRoshini/status/132922948037251072
    Thanks for the awesome giveaway!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I luv ur blog!!!!

    That’s a total of…4 entries counting the normal one…

    Roshini,
    http://bookish-delights.blogspot.com/

  2. Thanks for the giveaway! and I follow via email : coffee_ishita@yahoo.com

    and i have been dying to read these !! 😀
    email: coffee_ishita@yahoo.com

  3. Thanks for the awesome giveaway! I’ve been dying to read the rest of this series for months.

    E-mail subscriber: mizzbookworm@gmail.com

  4. Thanks for the giveaway and I just subscribed via email.
    Sthrnsweetie115@AOL.com

  5. HI, I subscribed @ luce.stsurin@gmail.com and I posted on my Facebook wall, my name is Looseleaf Leche Saint surin
    Thx for the great giveaway!
    +5 entries 🙂

  6. Following and commenting! I’ve just recently started this series so I’m excited to read it!
    writtenrhapsody(at)gmail(dot)com

  1. Pingback: And The Winner Of “Touch” Is… « Nicole's YA Book Haven

  2. Pingback: My Top Ten Books of 2011! « Nicole's YA Book Haven

Leave a Reply

