Top Ten Tuesday 10: Top Ten Books I Read That Were Outside Of My Comfort Zone

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is:
Top Ten Books I Read That Were Outside Of My Comfort Zone

(Not in any particular order)

  1. The Day Before by Lisa Schroeder: This was my first novel in verse. I received this through GalleyGrab (having never read a book by Lisa before) and I had no clue it was a novel in verse. Basically, I read this one by pure accident…and I ended up enjoying it. Which surprised me.
  2. Don’t Breathe a Word by Jennifer McMahon: I’d never read a book by Jennifer before I read Don’t Breathe a Word (which I received from NetGalley). Needless to say, while I liked it for the most part, it was far from what I usually read. Had it not been for that cover, I may have skipped on this one.
  3. The Art of Forgetting by Camille Noe Pagan: The reason why I requested this book on NetGalley was because of its gorgeous cover. This isn’t a book I’d normally pick up. It didn’t seem like I’d enjoy the plot. But I did. It was a nice read and I’m glad I took a chance on it.
  4. Legacy (Legacy, #1) by Cayla Kluver: I’m not big into historical YA stories, but again, the cover interested me. I decided to take a chance on this one, and I ended up enjoying it for the most part. And now I’m actually anticipating the sequel.
  5. If I Stay by Gayle Forman: This was my first YA contemporary novel. I’m a huge Sci-Fi/Fantasy kind of person, so I kept putting this book off over and over again. In fact, had it not been for talk about the movie adaption last year (which appears to have stalled), I probably would’ve never touched this one. That would’ve been a huge mistake.
  6. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen: I kept avoiding this book. I swore I wouldn’t like it. I didn’t find the description intriguing enough to read this one at first, but then I started seeing it everywhere  (and I mean everywhere). Eventually, I broke down and purchased a copy while shopping. Yeah. I devoured it within a few hours.
  7. Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma: I know I mentioned this one last week, but here it is again. Incest. Not exactly the most inviting topic, no? I had no intention of reading this book. But then I saw the reviews. And then it was on GalleyGrab. And then I downloaded it and allowed my heart to break repeatedly.
  8. Twilight by Stephenie Meyer: I read this back in 2007. It was the first YA novel I’d read in some time.  I’d heard a lot about it, but a love story about vampires? No thanks. Eventually I broke down and bought it. While this series gets a lot of hate (I happen to like it), I will say this: it was Twilight that made me interested in other YA titles.

So, that’s not ten…but it’s pretty close, no? I usually stick within my comfort zone, but I do branch out occasionally.

Have you read any of the books on my list? Which was your favorite? What books would you recommend for me to read (using this weeks topic)?

Posted on November 8, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

