Review: “Between the Sea and Sky” by Jaclyn Dolamore

Between the Sea and SkyBetween the Sea and Sky by Jaclyn Dolamore

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published October 25th 2011 by Bloomsbury USA Children’s Books
Review Copy: NetGalley
Purchase: Amazon Barnes & Noble
Description From Goodreads:
For as long as Esmerine can remember, she has longed to join her older sister, Dosinia, as a siren–the highest calling a mermaid can have. When Dosinia runs away to the mainland, Esmerine is sent to retrieve her. Using magic to transform her tail into legs, she makes her way unsteadily to the capital city. There she comes upon a friend she hasn’t seen since childhood–a dashing young man named Alandare, who belongs to a winged race of people. As Esmerine and Alandare band together to search for Dosinia, they rekindle a friendship . . . and ignite the emotions for a love so great, it cannot be bound by sea, land, or air.
My Review:

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Actual rating: 3.5/5 Stars

What first drew my interest to “Between the Sea and Sky” is that gorgeous cover. Then I read the description and I found myself intrigued. Unfortunately, the end result wasn’t what I had in mind. It isn’t that I disliked “Between the Sea and Sky”, that isn’t the case at all. I did enjoy it. It flowed nicely and Jaclyn Dolamore crafted a wonderful sea world. My problem was that I never truly cared about the characters. There was never that moment in which I felt a connection as I read.

“Between the Sea and Sky” is a story about a new Siren named Esmerine and her search to find her missing sister, Dosinia. For years, Dosinia and Esmerine dreamed of the day they would be sirens together. But the day following Esmerine’s Siren ceremony, Dosinia is nowhere to be found. After finding out that Dosinia has made her way to the surface with the humans, Esmerine sets out to find her sister – but as Siren, who is able to walk on legs easily, she must seek help from Alandare¸ an old friend (also a “winged boy”). In their search for Dosinia, both Esmerine and Alandare reconnect while igniting a romance.

I love the concept behind the story, I really do. I enjoyed the world that Dolamore created very much. To blend mermaids, angels, and humans altogether in one story? It’s definitely a unique twist. I just wish I got more from the characters. The bond that I was supposed to feel for Dosinia and Esmerine…I never really felt it. Then the way her parents were willing to let their daughter go to the surface in search of Dosinia – it just wasn’t believable. Mainly because during the Siren ceremony they go on and on about how dangerous humans are. And yet Esmerine’s parents seem to have no trouble sending her amongst the humans to find Dosinia. That was my biggest problem; I just never fully connected with any of the characters or understood their actions.

I’d recommend “Between the Sea and Sky” to anyone who enjoys a nice mermaid tale and/or a cute love story.

View all my reviews

Posted on November 14, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

