Review: dancergirl (WiHi series #1) by Carol M. Tanzman

dancergirl (WiHi series, #1)dancergirl by Carol M. Tanzman

Paperback, 248 pages
Published November 15th 2011 by Harlequin
Review Copy: NetGalley
Purchase: Amazon Barnes & Noble
Description From Goodreads:
A friend posted a video of me dancing online and now I’m now longer Alicia Ruffino. I’m dancergirl—and suddenly it’s like me against the world—everyone’s got opinions.

My admirers want more, the haters hate, my best friend Jacy—even he’s acting weird. And some stranger isn’t content to just watch anymore.

Ali, dancergirl. Whatever you know me as, however you’ve seen me online, I’ve trained my whole life to be the best dancer I can be. But if someone watching has their way, I could lose more than just my love of dancing.
I could lose my life.

My Review:
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

When I requested “dancergirl” from NetGalley, I wasn’t entirely sure of what to expect. While it sounded intriguing, I certainly was not expecting it to enjoy it as much as I did. The story is about Alicia Ruffino, a young girl studying dance. She lives for it. Until she becomes dancergirl and she unexpectedly finds herself being watched by a stranger. The story does start off rather slow, but once the first video goes viral, you will find yourself consumed by Ali’s story.

While out with friends, Ali finds herself lost in the music – and the focus of her friend’s video camera. Charlie later uploads the video online, and overnight, Ali transforms into dancergirl. The video managed to go viral and Charlie talks Ali into recording a few more. But when a video finds its way online of Ali dancing around in her room – in her underwear – things begin to unravel, and she’s suddenly desperate to break free of dancergirl.

Tanzman created realistic, likable characters. Each and every one of them had their flaws, including Ali, but that’s what made them real. The way that Ali reacts after finding out about the stalker – the fear, the anger, the distrust – it felt real. You feel it as you read along. Same with the secondary characters. They weren’t just thrown in for the sake of dialogue. They all had stories, each just as important as Ali’s (especially Jacy and Charlie). I really enjoyed that about “dancergirl”.

dancergirl” kept me on the edge of my seat. I had my guesses on who was responsible – most of which were wrong. And I absolutely loved that. While “dancergirl” is the beginning of a series, it’s tied up rather nicely in the end (which is why I’m eager to see where this series goes from here). I’d highly recommend this one.
View all my reviews

Posted on November 26, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

