Review: Obsidian (Lux #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Obsidian (Lux, #1)Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Paperback, First, 266 pages
Expected publication: December 6th 2011 by Entangled Publishing
Review Copy: NetGalley
Purchase: Amazon Barnes & Noble
Description From Goodreads:
Starting over sucks.When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

My Review:

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I fell in love with “Half Blood”, so when “Obsidian” was announced – I was excited to read it. I wasn’t sure how much I’d enjoy it (I wasn’t sure how sci-fi heavy it would be), but “Obsidian” is addicting. You want romantic tension? There’s plenty of it here! Suspense? Yep. Action? Yep. Awesome, kick butt female MC? Yep! I didn’t think it was possible, but “Obsidian” is even better than “Half Blood”.

The story is about Katy (who happens to be a book blogger) and the Black twins. When Katy’s mom decides to move to West Virginia, Katy isn’t exactly thrilled. But after her father’s death years earlier, her mom was desperate for a new start. Spending most of her time in front of her laptop, updating her book blog, Katy isn’t exactly the most social of characters – until her mother insists she introduce herself to the young teenagers next door: Daemon and Dee. Meeting them will turn her ordinary life upside down.

Daemon isn’t fond of Katy spending time with his sister, and he has his reasons. To say he’s a complete jerk to her at first may be putting it nicely, but he is quite hard to like when you first meet him. Thankfully, as the story goes on and you get a chance to know more about Daemon and Dee, that changes (he actually is quite charming). I loved the tension between Daemon and Katy. They are both incredibly stubborn and they refuse to admit how they feel about one another. You’re constantly waiting for one of them to just give in, so when that laptop scene comes – oh boy. Let’s just say that Jennifer L. Armentrout is the queen of tension.

If you’re looking for a strong female main character, this is your book. Seriously. Katy is just awesome. Even though Daemon insists that humans are weak, she manages to prove to him – twice – that she isn’t as weak as he makes her out to be. She’s witty. She’s strong. And she’s stubborn.

And I need the next book, like yesterday.

There isn’t a single bad thing I can say about “Obsidian”. It’s perfect, and I think it may actually be my favorite book of 2011.

Note: If you’re worried that “Obsidian” is too much sci-fi for you, as I know that not everyone loves sci-fi, no need to worry. Yes, there are aliens, but the sci-fi is rather light.

View all my reviews

Thank you to Entangled Publishing for granting my review request on NetGalley! I can’t wait to read the next book! Also, to readers interested in purchasing the e-book version: you probably won’t be able to download the e-book until December 6th (the paperback was released a bit early by vendors, so you can get that now).

Posted on November 27, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

Leave a Reply

