Top 10 Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Want To Give As Gifts

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is:

Top Ten Books I Want To Give As Gifts 
(and to who…even if you won’t actually give them!)
(Not in any particular order)
  • Obsidian  by Jennifer L. Armentrout: Favorite book of 2011. I’d gift this one to readers weary of the Sci-Fi elements, which are rather light, because this is one book this year that needs to be read.
  • Half-Blood  by Jennifer L. Armentrout: The book that made me into a Jennifer L. Armentrout fangirl. I’d gift this one to fans of the Iron Fey series (Alex and Seth remind me of Meghan and Puck at times, and Aiden reminds me of Ash).
  • Touch  by Jus Accardo: This book surprised me when I read it a few months back and since then, I haven’t been able to get it out of my head. I’d gift this one to fans of X-Men, Shatter Me (which I haven’t read yet – I know! – but they do share some common plot details), and fans of Twilight and/or Jennifer L. Armentrout.
  • Divergent  by Veronica Roth: I’d gift this one to fans of The Hunger Games.
  • Ashes (Ashes #1) by Ilsa J. Bick: This is a very twisted story, so it probably wouldn’t make for the best gift in that not everyone will be able to handle its extreme detailing, but it’s honestly a great book.
  • Hushed by Kelley York: One of the best books of 2011. It’s a thriller with a just the right amount of romance. It would make for the perfect gift for the older YA crowd.
  • The Iron Fey Series by Julie Kagawa: This is the only series on my list. I was going to put the books separately, or at least the first book, but if you’re going to gift one book – you need to gift the series. It’s addicting.
  • Ultraviolet by R.J. Anderson: This book does not receive nearly enough love, and for that reason alone, I think this would be an excellent book to gift to readers. It’s just a really exciting read.
  • Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion: I’ve made my love for this book well-known. If it were up to me, I’d be handing this to everyone for the holidays, along with a copy of “The Hungry Mouth” (a short story collection of Isaac’s which has a story set in the same world as “Warm Bodies”). But since my wallet wouldn’t enjoy that and he’s self publishing “The Hungry Mouth” in limited quantity (500, to be exact), I’ll just recommend this one as a wonderful gift for the zombie fans in your life.
  • Tempest (Tempest #1) by Julie Cross: Okay, so this won’t be out until January, but this would be one book I’d love to gift to others. It’s absolutely fantastic and I can’t wait to see readers fall in love with Jackson’s story, because let’s face it – they will.
  • The Probability of Miracles” by Wendy Wunder: I’d gift this novel to fans of “If I Stay” and “Where She Went”. It’s such a wonderfully written story about learning to live your life before it’s too late.
Posted on December 13, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Awesome selection! I’m adding some of these to my TBR list. 🙂 (And thanks for including HUSHED!)

  2. Wow! Awesome list. Most of these are on my must read list. You definitely have great taste in books.

    Here’s mine: http://danicapage.blogspot.com/2011/12/top-ten-books-i-want-to-give-as-gifts.html

    • You have a wonderful list yourself! I’ve been seeing Changing my Wardrobe by Deb Hanrahan all over the place. I’m going to have to check it out! 🙂
      Happy Reading!

  3. Great list – I have several on my wish list! 🙂
    Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday post. 🙂

  4. I have Probability of Miracles on order for my library, I’ll have to check it out because I loved Gayle Forman’s books. I loved Divergent and I am currently working my through the Iron Fey series. Great list, here is mine http://wp.me/pzUn5-H0

  5. I absolutely love Divergent. It’s my favorite book of 2011, to be sure, and I recommend it to just about everyone. I loved the world, the story, the characters – and I’m obviously very excited for Insurgent!

Leave a Reply

