My Top Ten Books of 2011!

The year is coming to a close and it’s time to break out the best of 2011 list’s. I know that not everyone will agree with the books I’ve picked for my list, but these are the books that I personally loved this year and that I’d easily recommend.

Not in any specific order.

  • Obsidian (Lux, #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout: “There isn’t a single bad thing I can say about “Obsidian”. It’s perfect, and I think it may actually be my favorite book of 2011.”
  • The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder: “The Probability of Miracles” isn’t an easy book to read, but it is an absolutely beautiful debut.
  • Where She Went (If I Stay, #2) by Gayle Forman: “”Where She Went” is just as emotional as “If I Stay”, and it’s just as beautifully written.”
  • Hushed by Kelley York: “Hushed” by Kelley York is by far one of the best books I’ve read this year. Hands down.
  • Ashes (Ashes, #1) by Ilsa J. Bick: “Ashes” is a heart pounding story that will be hard to put down. It’s a story about survival, about finding the strength within to keep going.
  • Divergent (Divergent, #1) by Veronica Roth: “I actually want to hit myself at the moment for waiting so long to read “Divergent” because if there is one book that lives up to the hype [so far] this year, it’s “Divergent”.”
  • Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion (Not a YA title, but shhh): “WARM BODIES is a different kind of zombie novel and I think that’s what makes it so fantastic.”
  • The Iron Knight (The Iron Fey, #4) by Julie Kagawa: “There are many reasons why “The Iron Knight” is fantastic (and my favorite of the series). Yes, Kagawa’s writing is story, as always. But it’s her character development that really shines through. To take a character like Ash, someone who rarely opens up, and really give the readers an insight into the person beneath the icy stare – it’s not an easy task, but Kagawa handles it well.”
  • Tempest (Tempest, #1) by Julie Cross: “Honestly, I’m not sure I can express just how much I enjoyed this book. “Tempest” is the perfect beginning to a trilogy.”
  • Dust & Decay (Benny Imura #2) by Jonathan Maberry: “Ever fall in love with the first book in a series and then convince yourself the second book couldn’t be nearly as wonderful? Well, no worries because “Dust & Decay” is everything a sequel should be.”
  • (BONUS PICK): Touch (Denazen #1) by Jus Accardo: “This is one of those books where you need to lock yourself away from the world for a few hours because you’re not going to want to put it down.”
  • (BONUS PICK): How to Date an Alien (My Alien Romance, #1) by Magan Vernon: “One of the most exciting debuts of 2011, HOW TO DATE AN ALIEN is an incredibly fun, thrilling romance that’ll leave you desperately wanting more.”
  • (BONUS PICK): Ultraviolet by R.J. Anderson: “To say I loved this book may actually be an understatement. It was just THAT good.”
  • (BONUS PICK):Virtuosity by Jessica Martinez: “Virtuosity” is a beautifully crafted story of a young girl finding out who she is and the struggles she faces along the way.Martinezis an author to watch.
  • (BONUS PICK)“Forbidden” by Tabitha Suzuma: “FORBIDDEN is unnerving at times, but it’s also a very powerful story worth reading.”

Note: These were books that I read in 2011, it doesn’t necessarily mean that they released in 2011 (case in point: Tempest isn’t out until January, but it’s a favorite read from this year).

Feel free to tell me your top ten books of 2011 in the comments below!

Posted on December 23, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the shout out!

  1. Pingback: HUSHED on The Best of 2011 lists!

Leave a Reply

