Review: Cinder (Lunar Chronicles #1) by Marissa Meyer

Cinder (Lunar Chronicles, #1)Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Hardcover, 1st Edition, 387 pages
Published January 3rd 2012 by Feiwel & Friends
Review Copy: ARC/NetGalley
Purchase: Amazon Barnes & Noble
 
Description From Goodreads:

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . .

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

In this thrilling debut young adult novel, the first of a quartet, Marissa Meyer introduces readers to an unforgettable heroine and a masterfully crafted new world that’s enthralling.

 
My Review:
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Is it too early to pick my favorite book of 2012? ‘Cause I’m pretty sure CINDER has that spot claimed already.

This is actually my third attempt at a review for this book, mainly because the others consisted of nothing but fangirling. And while I’m all for fangirling, I figured I should probably explain why I enjoyed CINDER so much. 😉

I wasn’t sure what to make of CINDER at first. When I heard it was a re-telling of Cinderella, I figured it wasn’t for me. I’d read a re-telling of Cinderella last year and I just didn’t enjoy it. Then I heard it involved cyborgs. That caught my attention – something original – and i’m glad that it did, because it would’ve been a terrible mistake to not read this wonderful book.

CINDER is a cyborg. She works at the local market as a mechanic where she first meets Prince Kai. Hoping to find a mechanic that can repair his android, Prince Kai goes to the market looking for Cinder – but she isn’t what he was expecting. It’s there at the market, shortly after they meet, that we first get a look at the plague. When her step sister becomes sick with the plague, Cinder’s step mother sends her off to be tested on in – in hopes that she’ll finally be rid of Cinder and that they’ll find a cure for her daughter. No one is expecting her to survive the testing. But when she does, her past – who she is and where she’s from – is revealed.

Meyer has taken a classic fairytale and spun an entirely original story that will engage the reader until the very last page.

I loved the characters (it’s hard not to love Cinder). I loved the plot. I loved the setting. Overall, I just loved CINDER.

View all my reviews

Posted on January 5, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

