Indie Spotlight Feature: Interview with Author Sally Dubats (+ Giveaway)!

I’m thrilled to be able to bring you an interview with Sally Dubats, author of The Grimoire Chronicles: Veil Between Worlds.

Here’s more about Sally’s book:

Description From Goodreads: The Witches’ New Year looms, and the Veil Between Worlds thins. Seventeen-year-old Cassie heads home from school and meets Trenton, a beautiful boy with an enchanting voice. Darkness blankets the encounter so Cassie forgets she ever met him. . . and what he did to her. For other girls the lost time would be the end of the story, but Cassie is Wiccan and she uses her intelligence and authentic witchcraft to remember the truth. Her spell sets in motion a mind-blowing adventure that takes her to another dimension, the astral plane, where anything is possible and a dangerous romance with Trenton blossoms.

But who. . . or what. . . is Trenton?

The story is fantasy. The spells are real.

Watch for the next book in the series,
“The Grimoire Chronicles: Winter Solstice”.

About Sally: Sally Dubats is a published author of a non-fiction compendium on the practice of witchcraft. She has held editorial positions for green non-profit organizations, and was the editor of a metaphysical newspaper for several years. Sally is Wiccan and continues to practice and research the Craft.

When did you know you wanted to be a writer?

I have always loved writing, and I have always loved creative expression in all forms. I still have a book from the fourth grade that I wrote about preying mantises. Yes. The bugs. I literally made a cardboard cover for the book, did the cover art and title, and “bound” it. I was pretty proud of that book, and I’ve been writing ever since! Plus, I’ve had so many mentors along the way. I believe people show up in our lives like angels to show us our Path. Writing is my way of honoring them. I think the other part of this question is that we should ALL be doing what we love on our Path, and that’s the best way to give back to society.

How did you come up with the story for The Grimoire Chronicles: Veil Between Worlds?

I love reading, and I’ve read a lot of Young Adult books with great female characters. What I felt was missing was a Wiccan protagonist. And that evolved into, “I wonder what a real Witch would do if faced with some kind of supernatural situation.” And then I began to think that there weren’t many real Witches represented in literature. I could only think of “Hollywood Witches,” stereotypes who could fly, move things with their mind, and make things disappear. That’s not real. Witches are real people who care about the earth, our families, natural healing, and, yes, magick, but not “Hollywood magic”. I wanted to write about THAT – real magick and real spells. The story is fantasy, but the spells are real! The last thing about the story was that it had to be FUN.

What do you hope readers will take away from reading The Grimoire Chronicles: Veil Between Worlds?

Great question! First and foremost, I want readers to have a thrilling read and get lost in an adventure in a new world! I love reading about people from different backgrounds and new places. I want to warmly welcome “Grimoire” readers into a new world! I want people to know that Pagans and Witches are like everyone else, and we’re coming out of the broom closet. We are all connected, and we all want the same things: to be happy, find our Path, and be joyful in life!

If there was one thing you could tell aspiring writers, what would it be?

Write! I was involved in theatre for about ten years, and have directed a lot of shows. A new director once came to me before directing her first show to ask some final advice. I told her to put as much of her own personality into the production as possible, and put THAT onstage – bigger than life! She did, and the production was great. I feel the same way about painting and dancing. I feel that way about writing. We’ve all got something incredible to say! Write a lot. Find YOUR voice. And put as much of your own personality into the writing as possible – all the sorrow, the laughter, the tears, the joy. Make it bigger than life – and put THAT on the page!

What can we expect from you in the future? How many Grimoire books do you think you’ll write?

I am SO excited about this project! There are eight Wiccan Sabbats, so there will be eight books to this series – one book for each Sabbat! We will follow Cassie on her journey during the Wheel of the Year. There are the two equinoxes and two solstices, and the four cross quarters which fall directly in between. So the next book will be “Winter Solstice,” which will be finished soon. (You can see the new book cover on my web site.) After that it will be “Imbolc,” “Spring Equinox,” “May Day,” etc., through the eight Sabbats to the end of the Year and a Day.

Describe The Grimoire Chronicles: Veil Between Worlds in three words.

Mind-Bending Romantic Rollercoaster! (mind-bending is hyphenated, so I’m counting it as one word! Hahaha!) And, Nicole, thank you so very much. This has been a pleasure, and your website is amazing. Keep up the great work! We all appreciate you so very much! May the Fairies bring you luck as plentiful as champagne bubbles!

Thank you Sally for providing wonderful answers to my questions!

Now, onto the giveaway! Sally has been kind enough to offer TEN e-books every Friday for this month. How awesome is that?! To enter, all you need to do is leave a comment with your e-mail address(so that we can contact you) and add The Grimoire Chronicles: Veil Between Worlds to your to-read shelf on Goodreads. Simple, right? Yes! Now get to it!

Since Sally has offered up ten e-book copies per week (again, I will be spotlighting her book EVERY Friday this month), it’ll be first come first served.

FYI: I don’t have access to Photoshop at the moment (its on my Desktop, not my laptop), so the images -Giveaway Rules and Indie Spotlight – are not by me. I found them on Google Images.

Posted on January 6, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. I love that there are finally REAL witches in books and especially being out of the broom closet in life. We all have our voice & should use it – online & everywhere. Can’t wait to read this & looking forward to the whole series.

    Hoping we all follow our paths where ever they lead us & remember to stay true to ourselves along the way! 🙂

    AlisonMcC920@gmail.com

  2. This sounds like such a great book. I don’t know about Wiccans so it will be very exciting to read about this new world. I am already very curious about Trenton I can’t wait to find out about him. I’m very excited to read this book I know I will love it.

    Sthrnsweetie115@AOL.com

  3. My curiosity is peeked. This sounds like an interesting read, and as one who is familiar with the craft, I am looking forward to seeing how deeply is playing a part in the book.

    Thanks for the wonderful interview and giveaway.

    Ldyskyfire@hotmail.com

  4. Sounds sooo very Interesting!! looking forward to the Book..

    arpita.tipnis@gmail.com

  5. Sheetal Kode Potter

    Wow this is such an amazing work…its so good that we get to interact with practising and professional wiccans…just cannot wait to read this copy…blessed be!!!

  6. Hi there! I’m a new follower on Twitter & am very interested in Sally’s e-book. I would love to read it!

    lynnmiller06@verizon.net

  7. Sounds like a good read to me. I was looking for something new to read. I just signed up for a GoodReads account and this book is the first book added to be read. Thanks for the giveaway.

    Rachel
    pefrw@yahoo.com

  1. Pingback: Pulling back the veil | Taste of MoonGoddess

  2. Pingback: {Indie Spotlight} Book Trailer + Giveaway: Veil Between Worlds! « Nicole's YA Book Haven

Leave a Reply

