Review: Exposed by Kimberly Marcus

ExposedExposed by Kimberly Marcus

Hardcover, 255 pages
Published February 22nd 2011 by Random House Books for Young Readers
Review Copy: Random Buzzers
Purchase: Amazon Barnes & Noble
Description From Goodreads:
In the dim light of the darkroom, I’m alone, but not for long.
As white turns to gray, Kate is with me.
The background of the dance studio blurred, so the focus is all on her
legs extended in a perfect soaring split.
The straight line to my squiggle,
my forever-best friend.

Sixteen-year-old Liz is Photogirl—sharp, focused and confident in what she sees through her camera lens. Confident that she and Kate will be best friends forever.

But everything changes in one blurry night. Suddenly, Kate is avoiding her, and people are looking the other way when she passes in the halls. As the aftershocks from a startling accusation rip through Liz’s world, everything she thought she knew about photography, family, friendship and herself shifts out of focus. What happens when the picture you see no longer makes sense? What do you do when you may lose everything you love most? Told in stunning, searingly raw free verse, Exposed is Kimberly Marcus’s gut-wrenching, riveting debut and will appeal to fans of Ellen Hopkins, Laurie Halse Anderson and Virginia Euwer Wolff.

My Review:

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

“Exposed” is a story about Liz – photogirl – and her best friend, Kate. During their Saturday Night Slumber, Liz and Kate get into an argument which results in Liz retreating to her bedroom, leaving Kate behind on the couch. Alone. When she wakes up the next morning to find Kate gone, she assumes she’s still mad about their fight. Until Kate claims that Liz’s brother, Mike, raped her.

It’s an accusation that changes Liz’s life for good. Does she believe her best friend? Or does she believe her brother? How can she be his sister now? How can she look at her photographs of Kate now?

Everything begins falling apart. Liz’s friends side with Kate – something she understands, but something that still hurts nonetheless. Her mother becomes a shell of the outgoing, friendly woman she used to be; refusing to believe her son could do something so terrible. Liz, who finds comfort with her boyfriend, Brian, soon finds herself alone. But the hardest part still is facing Kate when it’s all said and done.

“Exposed” tackles a very difficult subject matter. I wasn’t sure I’d like it, but I did. It’s a very powerful story worth picking up.

View all my reviews

Advertisements

Posted on January 8, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: