Audiobook Review: Skinned (Cold Awakening #1) by Robin Wasserman

SkinnedSkinned by Robin Wasserman

Published: Sept. 9th, 2008 by Brilliance Corporation

Review Copy: Library

Purchase: AmazonBarnes & Noble

Description from Goodreads:

The Download was supposed to change the world. It was supposed to mean the end of aging the end of death, the birth of a new humanity. But it wasn’t supposed to happen to someone like Lia Kahn.

And it wasn’t supposed to ruin her life.

Lia knows she should be grateful she didn’t die in the accident. The Download saved her–but it also changed her, forever. She can deal with being a freak. She can deal with the fear in her parents’ eyes and the way her boyfriend flinches at her touch. But she can’t deal with what she knows, deep down, every time she forces herself to look in the mirror: She’s not the same person she used to be.

Maybe she’s not even a person at all.

My Review:

My Rating: 3.5 Stars

Last year, someone recommended that I read Skinned by Robin Wasserman. I hadn’t heard much about Skinned, or the rest of the trilogy before then, but it sounded interesting. And so, on my to-read list it went. It probably would’ve stayed there had I not come across the audio book at the library. It’s not that I didn’t plan on reading the series, but more so the fact that my TBR pile at home is already insane (over 80 books piled in front of my bookshelves…yeah…) But an audio book? That I could squeeze in.

I will admit that I wasn’t a Lia fan for a good portion of the book. She was a spoiled brat before the accident, and that still shows through after the surgery (as to be expected, given her personality was installed in the new body). I think that’s what knocked the book down to 3.5 stars for me. I didn’t actually care about her, or what was going on in her life until the end.

But even though I didn’t care for Lia, or a lot of the secondary characters (hello, Zo), I did still enjoy Skinned. Wasserman has created a world that runs on technology, yet is fearful of “mech heads”. It reminds me of our world in a way. We’re so dependent upon technology.: mp3 players, cell phones, computers, e-readers, etc. But we’re also fearful of change, much like the characters in Skinned. I think that’s what I enjoyed most about Lia’s story – that it’s something that makes you wonder, what is it that makes us human? And why are we so afraid of change?

The narrator:

The audio book for Skinned was read by Kate Reinders, and while I found she was a nice fit for Lia’s voice, I found myself distracted when words were omitted or changed (as I did read along during some chapters). It forced me to backtrack to make sure I’d heard that correctly (example: there’s one part where she should say patients and she says parents).

Would I recommend Skinned? Yes.

FYI: Skinned has been re-published as Frozen (actually, the entire trilogy has received new titles and covers).

View all my reviews

Links to purchase the re-release versions of the trilogy (the link above will lead you to the original edition of Skinned):

Posted on February 13, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

