Mini Review Post: “Glitches”, “Portrait of a Strarter”, and “Eleven Minutes”!

I figured I’d post all of my reviews  for these shorts together on the blog. 🙂

Glitches (Lunar Chronicles, #0.5)Glitches by Marissa Meyer

Online Fiction, 1st Edition, 17 pages
Published December 5th 2011 by Tor
Purchase: AmazonBarnes & Noble
Description from Goodreads:
Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. In “Glitches,” a short prequel story to Cinder, we see the results of that illness play out, and the emotional toll that takes on Cinder. Something that may, or may not, be a glitch….
My Review:

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

First off, let me just say this: I loved “Cinder”. As of right now, it’s still holding the spot as my favorite book this year.
When I’d heard about the prequel, I was excited. It’s nice to be able to see what happened to Cinder before she meet Prince Kai, and to be able to gain a better understanding as to what happened to the man (Garan) who brought Cinder home. Meyer makes sure to give you a better insight without revealing too much within these 17 pages.
I always make sure to read the prequels of a book I enjoyed, and well, I’ll just say this: this one is nearly as good as the novel itself. Yes, within seventeen pages Meyer manages to pull the reader in just as easily as she does with “Cinder”.
You can either read the prequel on Tor’s site, or you can purchase the e-book for $0.99!

View all my reviews

Portrait of a Starter: An Unhidden Story (Starters, #0.5)Portrait of a Starter: An Unhidden Story by Lissa Price

ebook, 30 pages
Published February 14th 2012 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Review Copy: Purchased
Purchase: AmazonBarnes & Noble
Description from Goodreads:
See how it all starts for Callie and Michael in Portrait of a Starter, an exclusive ebook original short story by debut author Lissa Price.
My Review:

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
“Portrait of a Starter” is a nice introduction to the world Lissa Price has created, and it made me even more excited to read “Starters”.

In this short story, we get to meet Michael who happens to be a Starter. He spends his time drawing others, his nose deep in his sketchpad. The story starts off with him drawing Callie, a fellow Starter, while she sleeps.

The next morning, Callie takes off, after asking Michael to watch over her brother, Tyler. Michael assures her that he will, but curious as to where she’s headed, he asks a Friendlie to watch Tyler so that he can follow her. But what Michael finds when he follows Callie will only bring questions: Who is the boy she’s with? Why did they go inside of Prime Destinations? And will he ever see her again?

View all my reviews

Eleven Minutes: Exclusive Tie-In StoryEleven Minutes: Exclusive Tie-In Story by Megan Miranda

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

ebook, 28 pages
Published 2012 by Bloomsbury
Review Copy: Downloaded via Facebook
Read  here.
Description from Goodreads:
Fracture is told from Delaney’s perspective, and if you’ve read the first two chapters, you know that she falls through the ice in chapter one, and she wakes up 6 days later. And what happens in between—well, that’s Decker’s story.This is the story of those eleven minutes, and the six days that follow, from his perspective. Because while it must be terrifying to be trapped under the ice, it’s a different kind of terror seeing your best friend trapped…Especially if it’s your fault.

My Review:
My rating: 3.5 stars

“I am not this guy. I am not the guy who gets his best friend killed. She is not the girl on the other side of some sad story I’ll tell in a couple of years.
This is not the way the story ends.”

The beginning of “Fracture” takes you on a ride as you wait to see what happens with Delaney. And while I did like the book, I was curious to see what was going on while she was under the water. We know that Decker loses it when she falls through the ice, but we never really the panic he went through, the fear of him losing her. Sure, we know he was at her bed side in the hospital, and we know Decker went in after her. But in “Eleven Minutes”, we get to see exactly what was going on during those frantic eleven minutes. And while it may not add much to the story, it does offer a nice perspective of the guilt and the fear Decker experiences.

I really enjoyed this tie in to the original story. Do you need to read it? Not necessarily, but given that it’s only 28 pages (and free) – why not?

View all my reviews

 

There will be a second Mini Review Post coming your way this weekend featuring “Tomorrow is Today”, “First Frost”, the Iron Fey valentine’s day story, and Magan Vernon’s short story from the “In His Eyes” anthology (since I can’t read the others until I read those books). 😛

What I’m working on today: I will have at least one full review up today (Drowning Instinct), as well as another tomorrow  (Darkhouse). And I’m scheduling two for Sunday (Born Wicked and Chopsticks).

 

Posted on February 17, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

