Review (+Giveaway): Darkhouse (Experiment in Terror #1) by Karina Halle

Darkhouse (Experiment in Terror, #1)Darkhouse by Karina Halle

Paperback, 326 pages
Published May 1st 2011 by Createspace
Review Copy: From Author
Purchase: AmazonBarnes & Noble
Description from Goodreads:
Enter the world of the highly-acclaimed Experiment in Terror Series by visiting…the Darkhouse:

There’s always been something a bit off about Perry Palomino. Though she’s been dealing with a quarter-life crisis and post-college syndrome like any other twenty-something, she’s still not what you would call “ordinary.” For one thing, there’s her past which she likes to pretend never happened, and then there’s the fact that she sees ghosts. Luckily for her, that all comes in handy when she stumbles across Dex Foray, an eccentric producer for an upcoming webcast on ghost hunters. Even though the show’s budget is non-existent and Dex himself is a maddening enigma, Perry is instantly drawn into a world that both threatens her life and seduces her with a sense of importance. Her uncle’s haunted lighthouse provides the perfect catalyst and backdrop for a mystery that unravels the threads of Perry’s fragile sanity and causes her to fall for a man, who, like the most dangerous of ghosts, may not be all that he seems.

My Review:

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I first heard of “Darkhouse” from another blogger who couldn’t stop raving about how wonderful it was. And while I was eager to read it, I just never found the time. But then Karina contacted me, asking me if I’d be interested in reviewing “Darkhouse” – I managed to push aside my other reads and dive into this one…and let’s just say that I’m glad that I did.

Self-published authors tend to get a bad rep for (mainly for poor editing/poor writing). And yes, there are some indie titles out there that are choppy, and poorly edited. But this book is the perfect example of an indie title done right. If you’re someone who would rather overlook “Darkhouse” because it’s a self-published title, I can assure you that you’d be missing out. This is a truly fantastic book, and honestly, I now see why so many bloggers have been raving about this book/series. Halle has created likeable characters and a truly enjoyable story. It’s hard not to love this one.

And I kind of adore Perry. She isn’t your typical heroine. She isn’t described as perfect – in fact, she’s not stick thin, which is definitely something worth nothing because it makes her seem more realistic…more, believable. It doesn’t hurt either that she’s just plain awesome. In fact, I think she may actually be my new favorite heroine (Sorry, Alex).

I’m beyond glad that I’ve already purchased the rest of the series, because it’s truly addictive.

Don’t pass this one up. “Darkhouse” is a perfect start to what I’m rather sure will be an awesome series. And yes, I will be squeezing in the rest of the books ASAP.

View all my reviews

I know this post is super late, but I only just got home.

Now, onto the giveaway:

I’m giving away 5 Kindle copies of “Darkhouse”. How can you win one? Simple, the first five people to comment below with their e-mail address will receive a Kindle copy of “Darkhouse”.

Posted on February 18, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Sounds pretty awesome! Love ghosts related stories.

    cavraara@Aol.com

    thank you! 🙂

  2. Will add it to my ever expanding TBR list 🙂
    dazzled_rah@yahoo.co.uk

  3. I like ghost type stories.

Leave a Reply

