Book Review: Born Wicked (The Cahill Witch Chronicles #1) by Jessica Spotswood

Born Wicked (The Cahill Witch Chronicles, #1)Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood

Hardcover, 330 pages
Published February 7th 2012 by Putnam Juvenile
Review Copy: ARC
Purchase: AmazonBarnes & Noble
Description from Goodreads:

Everybody knows Cate Cahill and her sisters are eccentric. Too pretty, too reclusive, and far too educated for their own good. But the truth is even worse: they’re witches. And if their secret is discovered by the priests of the Brotherhood, it would mean an asylum, a prison ship–or an early grave.

Before her mother died, Cate promised to protect her sisters. But with six months to choose between marriage and the Sisterhood, she might not be able to keep her word… especially after she finds her mother’s diary, uncovering a secret that could spell her family’s destruction. Desperate to find alternatives to their fate, Cate stars scouring banned books and questioning rebellious new friends, all while juggling tea parties, shocking marriage proposals, and a forbidden romance with the completely unsuitable Finn Belastra.

If what her mother wrote is true, the Cahill girls aren’t safe. Not from the Brotherhood, the Sisterhood — not even from each other.

My Review:

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’d have to rate “Born Wicked” 3.8/5 stars. It isn’t a bad book. In fact, I genuinely enjoyed it. However, while the story itself is interesting, and I did adore Cate, I felt as though the pacing moved far too slow at times.

Cate and her two sisters are witches, a secret they must keep to themselves because if words gets out, they could be sent to Harwood Aslyum or worse. And Cate can’t allow that to happen, she promised her mother before her death that she’d take care of her sisters, that she’d protect their secret. But as her Intention Ceremony nears closer, and she struggles with the idea of marriage – whether it be to Paul or Finn – or joining the Sisterhood, secrets begin to come to light. Secrets that Cate would have never thought to be true.

I truly liked Cate. She’s tough and more than willing to sacrifice her happiness for those that she loves. In a world where women are looked down upon, Cate’s undoubtedly a strong heroine. And I honestly liked that about her.

My main problem with “Born Wicked”, as mentioned earlier, was the pacing. The story was over three hundred pages, but not much happened within those three hundred pages. I had to push myself to keep reading, which I’m glad that I did, but I did find myself bored at parts.

Overall, I did enjoy “Born Wicked” and I will be eagerly awaiting the second installment (more Finn, please!) because, even though it moved slow at times, I do feel as though Spotswood has crafted an interesting story here.

View all my reviews

Here’s the book trailer:

Disclaimer: The Amazon link above is linked to my Amazon Associates account. If you purchase a copy through that link, I earn a very, very, very, veryyyyy small amount which will be put towards future giveaways.

Posted on February 27, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

