{Blog Tour} Book Review (+Giveaway): Lying Season by Karina Halle

Lying Season (Experiment in Terror, #4)Lying Season by Karina Halle

Review Copy: Purchased

Purchase: Amazon -- Barnes & Noble
Published December 13th 2011 by Metal Blonde Books

Description from Goodreads:

Ama­teur ghost-hunter Perry Palomino has bat­tled ghosts, fought off skin­walk­ers and skirted the fine line between life and death. But can she sur­vive bunk­ing down in Seat­tle for a week with her partner (and man she secretly loves) Dex and his perfect girl­friend, Jennifer? And can she do so while being tor­mented by a mali­cious spirit from Dex’s increas­ingly shady past? With love and life in the bal­ance, Perry must dis­cover the truth among the lies or risk los­ing every­thing she’s ever cared about.

My Review:
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

“Lying Season” by Karina Halle starts off strongly and continues on that way until the very end.

What I like best about “Lying Season” is that it works as a stand alone novel. I read, and really, really enjoyed “Darkhouse” (the first book in the Experiment in Terror series). And while I planned on reading the other books before starting this one, I couldn’t find the time to do so before today’s post (thank you, Kindle, for dying)– I will be fixing that. Immediately. Halle does provide enough information within “Lying Season” to avoid confusion for readers that would rather immediately dive into “Lying Season”. But even though “Lying Season” works on its own, I’d highly suggest you take the time to read the series in order. You’re going to want to get to know Perry and Dex from the beginning, trust me.

The best way to describe “Lying Season”: Holy. Frak. There is Perry, a truly fantastic character. There is tension. There are thrilling spooktastic scenes. I mean really, what more can you want?

I’ll be happily drowning myself in the rest of the Experiment in Terror series over the weekend, thank you very much. I cannot recommend this series enough. You can download “Darkhouse” for free right now on Amazon, why not give this fantastic series a chance? You’ll love it. I promise.

View all my reviews


“Darkhouse”, the first book in the Experiment in Terror series, is currently free. Since you’re able to download the eBook for free (Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Smashwords), you will be able to choose ANY eBook in the series that you’d like as your prize.

For those who don’t know, this is the published series so far:

  • Darkhouse (Experiment in Terror #1) by Karina Halle
  • Red Fox (Experiment in Terror, #2) by Karina Halle
  • The Benson (Experiment in Terror #2.5) by Karina Halle
  • Dead Sky Morning (Experiment in Terror #3) by Karina Halle
  • Lying Season (Experiment in Terror #4) by Karina Halle

This giveaway will run from 4/20/2012 until 4/25/2012.

In order to enter, all you need to do is comment below with which title you’d like. Make sure to include a VALID e-mail address, I beg of you!

If you are curious to read other blog posts from the tour, make sure to check out the following blogs:


April 16:

Kindle & Me ~ Excerpt from DEAD SKY MORNING & eBook Giveaway E

Splash Of Our Worlds~ Excerpt from DARKHOUSE & eBook Giveaway

Book Briefs ~ Review of DARKHOUSE & eBook Giveaway

The Autumn Review ~ Excerpt from LYING SEASON & eBook Giveaway

Good Choice Reading ~ The Writing Cave Guest Post & eBook Giveaway

April 17:

Mercurial Musings ~ DARKHOUSE Spotlight & eBook Giveaway

Bookwhore ~ Review DARKHOUSE & eBook Giveaway

April 18:

April 19:

What the Cat Read ~ Review of RED FOX & eBook Giveaway

Unabridged Bookshelf ~ Character Tweets, Review of LYING SEASON & eBook Giveaway

Kindling the Fire ~ Review of RED FOX and eBook Giveaway

Hackaroo’s Reviews ~ Excerpt and eBook Giveaway

April 20:

Endlessly Bookish ~ Author Interview and eBook Giveaway

Nicole’s YA Book Haven ~ Review of LYING SEASON & eBook Giveaway

The Bookish Babes ~ Dream Cast & Grand Prize Giveaway (ebook copy of entire series)

And while you are at it, why not take some time to learn more about Karina Halle:

Karina Halle

Author of The Experiment in Terror Series
Look for Book #5 – On Demon Wings – out May 13th, 2012

Posted on April 20, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Thanks to you, I get to know the most incredible series, and I think this is one of those 🙂 I’ve heard some really good things about it, so I can’t wait to start reading!
    [I hope this giveaway is international? Please say yes!]

    I’d love to win the first book,
    Darkhouse (Experiment in Terror #1)

    Email: nelecoghe@hotmail.com

  2. AliyaSchwerner

    Would love to give this series a try! I would also love to win the first book, Darkhouse.

  3. I have yet to read this series! I would love to win the first book also. {Darkhouse (Experiment in Terror #1) by Karina Halle}


  4. is there anywhere to get the Lying Season for no charge? I have bought all the others!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: