Author Interview with Lisa Orchard (+ Giveaway)!

Today, I have an interview with Lisa Orchard, the author of The Super Spies and the Cat Lady Killer. Lisa was also kind enough to offer up TWO eBook copies of  The Super Spies and the Cat Lady Killer for two lucky readers, so keep reading for instructions on how to enter. 🙂

1)    When did you know you wanted to be a writer?

I started reading books pretty early and by fifth grade I was writing my own mysteries. I guess you could say Nancy Drew inspired me. Anyway, I knew I wanted to be a writer in fifth grade. J

2)    How did you come up with the story “The Super Spies and the Cat Lady Killer”?

The story is based on some of my own teenage exploits. However, these exploits are greatly embellished in the story. I wanted to be a detective when I was young and my friends and I developed our own detective squad.

3)    What do you hope readers will take away from “The Super Spies and the   Cat Lady Killer”?

Hmmm…good question. What I hope readers take away from the story is that old adage, “you can’t judge a book by its cover.” I wanted the reader to learn right along with the characters that there are reasons why people act the way they do and not to be too quick to judge someone who’s different too harshly.

4)    If there is one piece of advice that you could give aspiring writers, what would it be?

Keep writing.  Don’t let anyone tell you it can’t be done, because it can be.

5)    What can we expect from you in the future? Is there anything in particular that you’re working on?

I just signed the contract for the second book in the “Super Spies” series, it is tentatively scheduled for release sometime this summer. It’s titled “The Super Spies and the High School Bomber”, and my beta readers really enjoyed it!

6)    Describe “The Super Spies and the Cat Lady Killer” in three words.

Spine-tingling suspense 🙂

Where you can find Lisa online:

About “The Super Spies and the Cat Lady Killer”:

ebook, 277 pages

Published March 13th 2012 by astraea press

Back cover blurb:

This book opens in a small town in Michigan where fifteen-year-old Sarah Cole is stuck spending the summer at her Aunt and Uncle’s with her sister, Lacey. She’s not happy with the situation until she befriends a girl named Jackie. The three girls stumble upon the ruthless murder of a reclusive neighborhood woman. One of the officers investigating the crime believes the girls are responsible for her death. Fearing that this officer will frame them for the murder, the girls organize their own detective squad. They become the Super Spies and start their own fact-finding mission.  The Super Spies can’t understand why anyone would want to murder the “Cat Lady” until they start digging into her past and discover a horrible crime that happened thirty years ago. They uncover a connection between the two crimes and attempt to bring this information to the police, only to be reprimanded for meddling in the inquest. Not only are the girls upset by the admonition, but they also struggle with the fact that their exuberant investigating could provide a legal loophole allowing the killer to go free. To make matters worse, the police don’t even believe them. Frustrated by this turn of events, the Super Spies realize it’s up to them to snare the Cat Lady killer, or die trying…

Purchase links (only $2.99): Amazon Barnes & Noble

Interested in winning one of two eBook copies? All you need to do is comment below with a valid e-mail address and which format you’d prefer. Again, this is for an eBook copy.

Of course, the usual rules follow:

  • Must be 13 years old or older.
  • Must provide a valid email address.
  • Giveaway runs from 5/23/12 until 5/27/12.
Posted on May 23, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Thanks Nicole for having me here today! It is greatly appreciated! All you have to do to enter the giveaway is leave a comment! It’s that easy! 🙂

  2. sharonledwith

    Sounds like you’ve got a winner of a series that would appeal to kids of all ages, Lisa! Kudos and best wishes for a fab publishing career!

  3. sounds like a really great book i look forward to reading it.

  4. I shared the link. It looks like a great read. Best wishes with it!

  5. I can judge this book by its cover, and it looks FABULOUS!! It’s next on my TBR pile!! 😀

  6. Thanks Sharon! I appreciate your support! You rock!

  7. Thanks Tonja fo stopping by! You’ve been entered into the contest! Maybe you’ll win! 🙂

  8. Thanks for all your support June! You’re awesome!

  9. Thanks for stopping by Meg! I appreciate the support! Us Michiganders have to stick together 🙂

  10. Sharon, June, and Meg you’ve also been entered into the contest! 🙂 I didn’t mention that on my replies…but I should have! 🙂

  11. Sounds like a great read – so glad to hear from another Michigan writer!

  12. I’ve been following the blog tour and really like the sound of your book. Anything with cat in the title gets my attention. Great to know you’re creating a series out of it. Best of luck with it, and please sign me up to win a copy!

  13. Loved the book blurb as well as your interview. It sounds intriguing.

Leave a Reply

